Hancock Law Firm discusses what you should do after receiving a CDL suspension.

What to Do When You Have Received a CDL Suspension

North Carolina requires that anyone who drives a vehicle weighing more than 26,001 pounds (excluding trailers and hauling trailers that weigh more than 10,000 pounds, and vehicles accommodating at least 16 passengers such as buses, vehicles that transport hazardous materials) must obtain their Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) if they are to use the vehicle for commercial or business purposes. 

In order for truck drivers and other professional drivers to make money, they must obtain their CDL. Therefore, if a professional driver is at risk for a suspended CDL, he or she should act quickly since the performance of their main job responsibilities is at risk, as is their job itself. 

For truck and other professional drivers, a commercial driver’s license is a necessity; it allows them to make a living. Because of this, a professional driver must act quickly if their commercial driver’s license is at risk for a suspension. If your CDL is suspended, you will be unable to perform the main duties of your job, which can therefore subsequently be at risk. 

Reasons for Penalties and Charges

Certain actions and inactions are the cause of fines, traffic charges, and license suspensions for professional drivers. Such factors include:

  • Alcohol or drug-related charges
  • Carrying over the limit of cargo in weight
  • Driving while uninsured
  • Failure to stop at weigh stations
  • Habitual traffic violations
  • Logbook violations
  • Safety regulation violations
  • Speeding
  • Traffic violations while driving a personal vehicle

Serious Traffic Violations and Suspensions

When a commercial driver has been convicted of two “serious traffic violations” on two separate occasions, within a period of three years, while operating a commercial vehicle, he or she may lose their license for up to 60 days. If a commercial driver has been convicted of three serious traffic violations within a period of three years, he or she will receive a suspension of up to 120 days. 

Regardless of where the violations take place – inside or outside of the state – these suspensions apply. “Serious traffic violations” for commercial drivers include:

  • Driving a commercial vehicle without a CDL
  • Speeding by at least 15 miles over the limit
  • Tailgating
  • Traffic violations involving fatalities
  • Unsafe lane changes

Aggravated Offenses

A commercial driver can lose his or her license for a period of one year (or three years if transporting hazardous materials at the time) if they perform any one of the following offenses:

  • Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of .04% or higher
  • Using a commercial vehicle to commit a felony
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Refusing to blood alcohol concentration (BAC) testing
  • Operating a commercial vehicle with a suspended or revoked CDL 

Hancock Law Firm, PLLC Helps Those in North Carolina Who Are Facing the Suspension or Revocation of their CDL

The suspension or revocation of a CDL greatly impacts its holder, since he or she will be unable to make a living. That is why it is important to act swiftly and consult with a knowledgeable and experienced North Carolina Commercial Ticket Attorney who will provide you with aggressive representation for the purpose of protecting your license and therefore your livelihood.

At Hancock Law Firm, PLLC we have the experience necessary to assist commercial drivers dealing with possible points on their licenses, fines, and penalties. If you are looking at a potential suspension or revocation of your CDL, Hancock Law Firm, PLLC can help. Contact our office today to schedule a consultation.